Tuesday, November 30, 2021

The Lost Girl in Paris by Jina Bacarr - Book Review

 


Title – The Lost Girl in Paris: A brand new gripping and heartbreaking WW2 historical novel.

Author – Jina Bacarr

Publisher – Boldwood Books

Genre - Historical Fiction

Publication Date – November 30, 2021

My Rating - ⭐⭐⭐⭐ / 5

BOOK DESCRIPTION

'I will never forget what the Nazi did to me. Never'

1940, Nazi-occupied Paris. A powerful story of love, tragedy and incredible courage, about one woman whose life is ripped apart by war and risks everything to seek justice. Brand new from the bestselling author of The Resistance Girl.

As Nazis patrol the streets of the French capital, Tiena is alone, desperate and on the run. After defending herself against the force of an officer, she must find a new identity in order to survive.

An accidental meeting with members of the Resistance gives her a lifeline, as she is offered the chance to reinvent herself as perfumer Angéline De Cadieux. 

However Angéline will never forget what happened to her, and will do everything she can to seek revenge. But vengeance can be a dangerous game, and Angeline can only hide her true identity for so long before her past catches up with her, with some devastating consequences...

Paris, 2003. When the opportunity arises for aspiring journalist Emma Keane to interview world renowned perfumer Madame De Cadieux about her life during World War Two, she is determined to take it. There are secrets from her own family history that she hopes Angéline may be able to help unlock.

But nothing can prepare Emma for Angéline's story, and one thing is for certain - it will change her own life forever…

An absolutely heartbreaking, unforgettable historical novel of war, sacrifice and survival. Perfect for fans of Suzanne Goldring, Ella Carey and Catherine Hokin.

MY REVIEW

aRoma girl, a brave woman and a fantastic perfumer. She has only one way to save her life, is to get lost in Paris.

I was shocked by reading Tiena's story, her life in the Roma camp, the Roma traditions. This information was new for me, thanks to the Author for brining that, and it was so great to know about that life. After those awful events in Tiena's life she had no the other choice but escape. And it surprised me, I was so worried for her, and curious how she could do that. What would happen with that Roma girl?

Another amazing thing in the novel is the Emma's interview, that made me hardly to put down the book. Her feelings and worries echoed in me, making me worried too. The Lost Girl in Paris has many unpredictable plot twists and unexpected ending.

This book is worth its reading. It is so romantic but heartbreaking, emotional and made me crying. I enjoyed reading this book, liked the main characters and was so intrigued during the reading.

I would recommend this book to everyone who is interested in romance and historical fiction.

Thanks to Jina Bacarr, BoldWood Books and NetGalley for the ARC and an opportunity to read this book!

#bookreview #reading #books #bookstagram #historicalfiction

 


No comments:

Post a Comment