Saturday, December 25, 2021

The Spanish Daughter by Lorena Hughes - Book Review


Title – The Spanish Daughter: A Gripping Latinx Historical Novel

Author – Lorena Hughes

Publisher – Kensington Books

Genre – Historical Fiction

Publication Date – December 28, 2021

My Rating - ⭐⭐⭐/ 5

BOOK DESCRIPTION

Perfect for fans of Julia Alvarez and Silvia Moreno-Garcia, this exhilarating novel transports you to the lush tropical landscape of 1920s Ecuador, blending family drama, dangerous mystery, and the real-life history of the coastal town known as the “birthplace of cacao.”

As a child in Spain, Puri always knew her passion for chocolate was inherited from her father. But it’s not until his death that she learns of something else she’s inherited—a cocoa estate in Vinces, Ecuador, a town nicknamed “París Chiquito.” Eager to claim her birthright and filled with hope for a new life after the devastation of World War I, she and her husband Cristóbal set out across the Atlantic Ocean. But it soon becomes clear someone is angered by Puri’s claim to the estate…

When a mercenary sent to murder her aboard the ship accidentally kills Cristóbal instead, Puri dons her husband’s clothes and assumes his identity, hoping to stay safe while she searches for the truth of her father’s legacy in Ecuador. Though freed from the rules that women are expected to follow, Puri confronts other challenges at the estate—newfound siblings, hidden affairs, and her father’s dark secrets. Then there are the dangers awakened by her attraction to an enigmatic man as she tries to learn the identity of an enemy who is still at large, threatening the future she is determined to claim…

MY REVIEW

If you'd know how much I love those books in which you never know what will happen on the next page! The Spanish Daughter is one of those books!

From the first pages, the book captures the reader, immersing him in the incredible events taking place at the beginning of the 20th century in Ecuador.

Puri, traveling from Spain to Ecuador, entered the deck of the ship Andes as a married woman, and landed on the ground as a widow. What did she have to do to save her life? At the risk of losing her life, Puri decided to investigate her husband's murder on her own, settling in her relatives' house, in a place filled with lies, secrets, betrayals.

The book is full of unexpected plot twists, and new details and evidence of the crime keep the reader in suspense, keeping the intrigue and attempts to guess who is involved in the murder. Finally, the puzzle formed into a completed picture, what shocked me!

Despite the fact that in some places the story goes into unreal, unbelievable events, this book will be an enjoyable reading for everyone who loves fiction and historical fiction.

Thanks to Lorena Hughes, Kensington Books and NetGalley for the opportunity to read and review this wonderful book!

💖 If you fancy reading this book, you can get a copy here:

Amazon

ABOUT THE AUTHOR


 Lorena Hughes was born and raised in Ecuador until moving to the U.S. at 18. She has a degree in fine arts and mass communication & journalism from The University of New Mexico. Storytelling is her passion and she writes novels set in South America, seasoned with mystery and family secrets. Her previous work won first place at the 2011 Southwest Writers International Contest in the historical fiction category, earned an honorable mention at the 2012 Soul-Making Keats Literary Competition, and was a quarter-finalist for the 2014 Amazon Breakout Novel Award. Her latest novel, The Spanish Daughter, will be available in Dec 2021.

Author contact links: Website Goodreads Amazon

#historicalfiction #NetGalley #bookreview #reading #bookstagram

No comments:

Post a Comment